What are the Five Love Languages?

Whether you’re living together or having a distant relationship, it’s easier for some people, but not for everyone to share their affectionate feelings with their partner and let them know that how much you treasure and cherish them. If it makes you feel like that both of the partners are communicating a bit differently, then they speaking the love language. Today, we’ll discuss what are the five love languages in detail.

What are the Five Love Languages? 

Usually, partners and couples use their own specific terms while communicating. If you ask them about their love language, then they have no idea either about their or their partners’ love language. Therefore, it’s significant to be aware of your and your partners’ love language. The more emotionally intelligent you are, the easier it would be for you to connect with your partner and develop a healthier romantic relationship. Now, the question is what are the five love languages; and they’re as follows;

Words of Affirmation

When partners connect with each other through love language and acknowledge their compassionate feelings verbally, then it allows them to understand, appreciate, and care about their romantic partners. The verbal acknowledgement comprises of simple things like appreciative, supportive, and encouraging words, and tenderly saying “I love you.”

You should involve such love language into your relationship; you can use it in simple ways like speaking verbally and directly, written notes, text messages, and also on social media platforms.

Quality Time

Love and affectionate language also mean that you spend quality time with your partner and offer your undivided attention. You can express your attention by actively listening, making eye contact tenderly and not staring, and turning off your smartphone or tablet. You should avoid offering your advice, positive affirm whatever they’re saying, and make eye contact.

Spending quality time matters a lot in the love language than the quantity of time. Your partner would love it when you pay attention to them.

Acts of Service

Acts of service mean when your partner helps you out in the routine chores like putting gas in the vehicle, vacuuming the house, running errands, cleaning, cooking, and washing dishes. When partners are in love, then they perform these small gestures.

Receiving Gifts

Offering gift is a symbol of affection and love. The partner doesn’t only appreciate the gift, but also admire the effort that the lover has put it into. However, it doesn’t mean that you expect expensive and costly gifts rather than the gesture behind the gift. It simply means that you take time out of your busy life and search out the particular gift for your partner.

Gifting is such a beautiful love language gesture that the receiver remembers the smallest gift that you offer them, and it has a great impact on them.

Physical Touch

Physical touch intimacy is also a significant part of love language. It’s not just sexual intercourse, physical touch comprises of various forms of kind gestures like a light massage after a long working day, slightly padding your partners’ arms and holding hands.

When we talk about perfect date night, then it comprises of watching a movie together on the sofa and cuddling. It means that you get closer to your love partner.

What are five love languages

Benefits of Love Languages for your Relationship 

As we are aware of the fact that every relationship is different, and partners express their love language differently in various types of relationships. They have a great impact on the relationship. Some of the main benefits of love language on your relationship are as follows;


You speak the love language when you’re committed to the relationship, and you care about the other person rather than yourself. The focus of couples should be on understanding their partners’ love language, rather than making them learn yours. They both should understand each others’ affectionate language.

In the ideal case, both partners express their affectionate feelings in their own love language that is meaningful to them. Their focus should be on exploring and learning each other love languages.


When you empathize with your partner, then you step out of yourself and observe and experience the love of your partner. At such a point, you understand and feel the love of your partner, instead of simply focusing on your own and speaking your love language.

When partners try to comprehend each others’ love language and show commitment towards it. It makes them more emotionally intelligent, and they put their partners’ needs first.


When partners communicate regularly and share feelings and thoughts, then it not only develops understanding but also maintains intimacy in the relationship. It allows them to learn each others’ love languages, and connect with each other at a deeper level.

Personal Growth

When you put your focus on someone else selflessness, then it leads you toward personal growth. Often people are busy and absorbed in their own life and affairs, then you’re unaware of the things going on around you. However, when you get out of your comfort zone, then it compels you to grow and be productive.

Sharing Love

When partners communicate with each others’ love language, then their love gesture not only becomes intentional but also meaningful. When they express their love through their words and actions, then it makes more sense to them.

Criticism on Love Language Theory 

There are some limitations of the love language theory, and people should be careful implementing it in their lives.

Misuse of the Language

Some partners have a competitive nature and they keep on tracking the number of times their partner is using their love language and understand them. They don’t take the love language as an affectionate gesture. However, when it becomes a weapon rather than a communication tool for sharing and expressing love and affection, then it loses its essence.

Some partners speak their own love language disregarding their partner. Love language doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t develop a relationship with a person that doesn’t speak your language. Instead, it is a way of understanding and recognizing the gesture of your partner.

Not Fixing Relationship Problems

The five love languages we’ve discussed above, don’t resolve issues in your marriage and relationship. They’re simply a communication tool to express your feelings and thoughts. Research studies have shown that partners that understand each others’ love languages, tend to be happier in the relationship. It’s important to keep in mind that love language changes over time when you have children and go through a difficult time, and you should accept that.

Put Pressure on Partner

Learning and understanding your partners’ affectionate language and various terms put unnecessary pressure on partners, especially in a committed relationship. Studies have shown that some partners don’t even know that their partner is trying to speak a love language to them. It makes it difficult for the other partner to recognize and appreciate the effort.

Conclusion: What are the Five Love Languages? 

After an in-depth study of what are the five love languages; their benefits and limitations; we’ve realized that love language plays a significant role in the relationship. If you’re going to apply to the relationship, then you should bring your partner on the same page while applying it.